

MEDIA RELEASE 22nd December 2017



Third Hobart 1000 for Rob Britton

From Shane Yates Tasracing Website

Rock Up Top (\$11.70) gave Rob Britton his third Group 1 Hobart Thousand victory in a thrilling final in Hobart on Thursday night.

The 2017 edition of Australia's longest running Classic was one for the ages with only a neck separating the first four chasers on the line, in the most exciting finish in the rich history of the time honoured Feature.

The favourite Kouta Mayhem had been challenged strongly by the Ted Medhurst prepared High Treason to the turn into the stretch and was left a sitting duck halfway up the home straight.



Rock Up Top storms home to win the Hobart 1000 (All Pics Peter Hayes)

The challenges came left, right and centre with Rock Up Top hitting the front in the shadows of the post, only to have Print The Money (\$5.10) swoop late out wide on the track and its kennel-mate Blue Gum Hill (\$5.40) surge through late in the centre.

When the judge examined the print there was plenty to look at, the margins coming up as a head, by a short half-head, with Kouta Mayhem a short half-head away fourth.

Continued Page 2...

High Treason ran a gallant race from box six, he went head and head with Kouta Mayhem but just couldn't cross the Melbourne Cup placegetter, which had drawn favourably in box one.

Shane Whitney's Two Bills began fairly but drifted back early to find itself last off the back straight.

Even though the final result will read that the Gold Cup winner ran sixth, he was closing in late to cross the line with High Treason, only 2.5 lengths from the winner.

Yogi Mac tried valiantly in the pressure cooker of the Group 1 Final but found the tempo too hot while last year's winner Zipping Bruiser finished well back.

The Seona Thompson-trained sprinter Aqua Cheetah somewhat made up for the disappointment of missing the final by .001 of a second by taking the Bob Brown Memorial Hobart Thousand Consolation final in convincing style.

After the placed runners, the field finished in the following order 4th Kouta Mayhem (\$2.20), 5th High Treason (\$25.30), 6th Two Bills (\$6.90) 7th Yogi Mac (\$17) and Zipping Bruiser (\$34.10).



Rock Up Top in the centre at the presentation after his Hobart 1000 win

Rock Up Top is raced by Gerard Targett and trained by Robert Britton at Lara he is a Black dog whelped May 2015 by Spud Regis from Proven Wag (El Galo x Blu Pie Girl). Rock Up Top has won 10 and finished a place 16 times from his 54 starts and with the \$75,000 first prize for the Hobart 1000 it took his current stake earnings to \$133,705.

The Hobart 1000 is the oldest feature race final in Australia it was first run as the Hobart Cup at the old TCA circuit in 1935. The race first became known as the Hobart 1000 in 1939, it reverted back to the Hobart Cup for two years in 1942 then was not held during the war years of 1944-45 and when the race recommended in 1946 it was again known as the Hobart 1000.

The most notable effort in the history of the Hobart Thousand must be the training feat of Hilda Williamson of Beaconsfield. She won back-to-back Thousands in 1961/62 with her grand bitch Ophir Doll, and just for good measure made it a hat trick with Ophir Gold in 1963. Another notable feat was that of Beaut Dina. She won the event run in 1976 and was the dam of Scene Control, which won the last ever Hobart Thousand run at the T.C.A. in 1980. Both were owned and trained by Ted and Laurie Rigby of Evandale. Arguments will always rage over the greatest dogs to win the Thousand. The best interstate chasers to gain victory would have to be Rookie Rebel (1958), Benjamin John (1969), (which ran down the immortal

Zoom Top), Black Aztec (1981), and the freak Brother Fox (1985). Amongst the very best of the locals to salute would have to be Ophir Doll (1961/62), along with Royal Griffin (1978), True Vintage (1988),

Bomber's a Flyer (1996), Top Shiraz (2000) (who held off the speedster Brett Lee) and Black Caleb (2002) who defeated Melbourne Cup winner Classic Capri. Race record over the 457m trip - 2005 winner Ralph The Mouth 25.60. In 2011 the winner was Dyna Tron who was later judged the AGRA & Victorian Greyhound of the Year, he narrowly beat local champ Rewind.

Listed below are the names of many champions that have tasted victory in the time-honored event. It is certainly an impressive list of past winners.

1935 Elwick Boy, 1936 Miafort, 1937 Loch Maree, 1938 On Par, 1939 Mr Whackles, 1940 Silver Rover, 1941 Cavalry, 1942 My Kenya, 1943 Askalon, 1944 "Not Held", 1945 "Not Held", 1946 Ebon's Own, 1947 Young Sign, 1948 Hero Minda, 1949 Erin's Ace, 1950 Neat Brandy, 1951 Pleasant Foam, 1952 Baron Dhu, 1953 The Mudlark, 1954 Pasha Chief, 1955 Minda Go, 1956 Baron Woomera, 1957 Rising Ace, 1958 Rookie Rebel, 1959 Peter's Treasure, 1960 Bow Rock, 1961 Ophir Doll, 1962 Ophir Doll, 1963 Ophir Gold, 1964 Sandy Stone, 1965 Fairbairn Lady, 1966 Ipswich Low, 1967 Fiery Bob, 1968 Sue Narila, 1969 Benjamin John, 1970 Plunder Road, 1971 Trion Scout, 1972 Beau Palomino, 1973 Sue's A Credit, 1974 Jamin John, 1975 Snowsim, 1976 Beaut Dina, 1977 Check Vista, 1978 Royal Griffin, 1979 Astradome Lad, 1980 Scene Control, 1981 Black Aztec, 1982 Kudaleen, 1983 Stony Point, 1984 Double Time, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Solitary Simon, 1987 White Gigolo, 1988 True Vintage, 1989 Scott James, 1990 Bacchant, 1990 Shantytown, 1991 Jenny's Legacy, 1992 Bomber Gleeson, 1993 Extra's Boy, 1994 Storm Hero, 1995 Clint's Pirate, 1996 Bomber's A Flyer, 1997 Shantung Tiger, 1998 Mirren Bale, 1999 Latest Lad, 2000 Top Shiraz, 2001 Black Caleb, 2002 Star Witch, 2003 Nobody Knew, 2004 Regent Thunder, 2005 Ralph The Mouth, 2006 Superman, 2007 Train A Journey, 2008 Little Spaniard, 2009 Prankster, 2010 Octane Show and 2011 Dyna Tron, 2012 Blackall's Boss, 2013 Paw Licking, 2014 Above All, 2015 Unlawful Entry and 2016 Zipping Bruiser.

> For more information please contact: Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0438 042 838

David Simonette GCA Executive Officer simonette7862@gmail.com